Citation Help 2.0: Notes & Bibliography

Most Common Chicago Citations

In Chicago's Note Bibliography style, you will cite your source with either an endnote or a footnote (note) in the text of your paper and in the bibliography at the end of your paper. The two citations will have most of the same information, but be in a slightly different format from the citation in your bibliography. Notably:

1) In the note, the first author's name is written firstname lastname, while in the bibliography, this is inverted, so that the first author's name is written lastname, firstname.

2) The note includes the page number that contains the information being referenced in the paper; the bibliography instead has the inclusive page numbers for the whole article.

Book

Note: Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (City of  publication: Publisher, Year), page number.

example: Richard Wilbur, The Poems of Richard Wilbur (New York: Harcourt, Brace & World, 1963), 52.

Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.

example: Wilbur, Richard. The Poems of Richard Wilbur. New York: Harcourt, Brace, & World, 1963.

 

Journal article (from a library database)

Note: Firstname Lastname and Firstname Lastname, "Article Title," Journal Title vol#, no. #. (Year): page#, accessed date, doi: 10.21222/10111

example: Carlton Leroy Wright and Christine Gangelhoff. "Cultural Identity in Bahamian Art Music: The Expression of Four Bahamian Composers." International Journal Of Bahamian Studies 19, no. 2. (2013): 72, accessed November 11, 2015, doi: 10.15362/ijbs.v19i2.189.
 

Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname and Firstname Lastname. "Article Title."Journal Title vol#, no. #. (Year): p-p. Accessed date. doi: 10.21222/10111

example: Wright, Carlton Leroy, and Christine Gangelhoff. "Cultural Identity in Bahamian Art Music: The Expression of Four Bahamian Composers." International Journal Of Bahamian Studies 19, no. 2 (2013): 70-79. Accessed November 11, 2015. doi: 10.15362/ijbs.v19i2.189.

Website

Website citations can often be made simply by mentioning the site in the text of a paper (According to the American Cancer Society's website...) and including a corresponding note. If a full bibliographic citation is needed, use the format below.

Note: "Title of Website," Author/Organizaton, last modified/access date, URL.

example: "Cancer Screening Guidelines," American Cancer Society, last modified October 20, 2015, http://www.cancer.org/healthy/findcancerearly/cancerscreeningguidelines/american-cancer-society-guidelines-for-the-early-detection-of-cancer.

Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname/Organization name. "Title of Website." Last modified/Access date. URL.

example:  American Cancer Society. "Cancer Screening Guidelines." Last modified October 20, 2015. http://www.cancer.org/healthy/findcancerearly/cancerscreeningguidelines/american-cancer-society-guidelines-for-the-early-detection-of-cancer.

*formats are adapted from theOWL at Purdue's Chicago Sty;e Guide: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/717/03/